cardinal head 200






Life At Bishop




Girls Varsity Volleyball Roster

Jersey Number First Name Last Name Grade
 1 Ai-Yan Shefflin 12
 2 Miabella  Bazzani 11
 3 Ellie Regan 12
 4 Sofia Borgatello 12
 5 Kylie Zimmerman 12
 6 Clara McDonald 11
 9 Amy Mancinelli 12
 10 Alina Urzua 12
 12 Ellis Bergquist 12
 13 Emma Coglizer 11
 14 Siena Urzua 11
 16 Abigail Garcia 10
 17 Eliana Urzua 9


Girls JV Volleyball Roster

Jersey Number First Name Last Name Grade
 2 Tara Gregson 9
4 Annabelle Aslarian 9
5 Sonia Mancuso 9
6 Lauren Weeks 10
8 Kate Whitney 11
10 Avianna Gordon 10
11 Audrey Gayou 10
12 Tessa Johanssen 10
14 Sofia Parisotto 9
15 Emily Whitney 11
16 Sage Thorne-Thomsen 10
17 Annabel McDonald 9
18 Vivi Klentner 9


Girls Frosh/Soph Volleyball Roster

Jersey Number First Name Last Name Grade Position(s)

Varsity Coaching Staff

Head Coach


DBDillan Bennett - 3rd Season
Overall Record: 18-14


Bio: Dillan Bennett returns for his third season at Bishop Diego HS for the 2021 season. Last year, the girls team played an outdoor only season due to COVID-19 and finished the season with a 6-1 record. Two years ago, he led the Girls Volleyball program to a quarterfinal run in Division 8. Prior to his time at Bishop, Coach Bennet was a Volunteer Assistant Coach for the Penn State Men's Volleyball team in 2019. The Nittany Lions finished as runners-up in the EIVA Championships. Bennett was the boys volleyball coach at Bishop during the 2018 season, leading the Cardinals to an 11-3 record in the Tri-Valley League and a berth in the CIF Division 3 playoffs. Bennett, a Dos Pueblos alum, served as Laguna Blanca’s boys indoor coach from 2009-2015, guiding the Owls to back-to-back trips to the CIF-SS semifinals in 2014 and 2015. He also headed up the boys and girls sand teams while at Laguna Blanca. He coached the girls indoor volleyball team at Dos Pueblos from 2015-2016 and led the Chargers to their first postseason berth in four years during the 2016 season. In 2017, Bennett worked as an assistant coach for the SBCC women's volleyball team, where the Lady Vaqueros were co-WSC North Conference Champions and finished 5th in the SoCal Regional Championships. Bennett has also coached both boys and girls indoor and beach volleyball at the club level since 2009. He received national recognition from the American Volleyball Coaches Association in 2013, receiving the “30 Under 30" Award, which named him as one of the 30 top up-and-coming coaches in the country.


JV Coaching Staff

Head Coach

Ed Gover


Frosh/Soph Coaching Staff

Head Coach

Dillan Bennett


 BishopDiego Vball 1977

CIF-SS Championships

1975 - Division 2-A

1977 - Division 1-A

1978 - Division 2-A

1979 - Division 2-A

CIF-SS Runner-Up

1983 - Division 2-A

1997 - Division VAA

League Championships

1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1983, 1984, 2006




CIF-SS Player of the Year

Heather Hafner (1978) - Division 2-ABishopDiego Vball 1977 2

Diane Sebastian (1977) - Division 1-A

Nancy Craig (1975) - Division 2-A


Coach of the Year Awards


 Name Year Graduated School Attended
Nicole Tethrow 2012 Cal Lutheran
Christina Nowak 2006 UCSB
Amber Davis 2002 Seton Hall
Esther Van Wingerden 1984 UC Berkley
Mary McLaughlin 1982 Notre Dame
Ashley Parker 1982 Bates College
Heather Hafner 1980 Cal State Northridge
Jennifer Van Son 1979 Saint Mary's
Diane Sebastian 1978 Hawaii
Nancy Craig 1977 Pacific
Colleen McLaughlin 1971 UCSB
Debbie Wantuck 1971 UCSB

Bishop Newsletter

Enter your email address below to begin receiving the Bishop Diego email newsletter.

Please let us know your email address.
           I am not a robot
Invalid Input
Bishop Diego HS
Bishop Garcia Diego High School

  4000 La Colina Road
Santa Barbara, CA 93110
General Information: Extension 101
Admissions Office: Extension 118